Menu Close

The University of Douala

The University of Douala or Université de Douala (UDla) is one of the eight state universities in the Republic of Cameroon and its campuses are located in Douala – Economic capital. It has an enrollment of over 50,000 students, more than 750 lecturers and more than 600 Administrative and Support Staff.

History of the University of Douala

The build-up to the eventual creation of the university started with the Presidential Decree for the Creation and Organization of University Centers –Decree No 77/108 of April 28, 1977. Then was the Creation of universities by Decree n ° 93/026 of January 19, 1993 which defined the administrative and academic organization of the University of Douala which was to have 11 establishments.

UDla at its creation incorporated the university centre (centre universitaire) which was established in 1977 and included the  Higher School of Economic and Commercial Sciences (ESSEC) and the Higher Technical Teachers Training College (ENSET). Three (03) specialized centres have recently been added to the university.

The University of Douala

Location and Campuses

The university has infrastructural establishments in the following parts of the Region;

  • Bassa  Campus ( which is the main Campus housing an institute and four faculties),
  • The Ndogbong Campus with two institute,
  • The Akwa Campus
  • Campus at Nkongsamba
  • Yabassi
  • And lastly Logbesou

Faculties and Institutes

UDla trains students in economics and commerce, technical training, industrial engineering, medicine and pharmaceutics, arts, fisheries science, humanities, law and politics, sciences, economic sciences and management under the following faculties and institutes organized into three categories as follows

Professional, scientific and technological establishments (07).

Higher Normal School of Technical Education (ENSET)

  • The University Institute of Technology (IUT)
  • The Faculty of Industrial Engineering – FS: Faculty of Sciences (FGI)
  • The Faculty of Medicine and Pharmaceutical Sciences (FMSP)
  • The Institute of Fine Arts (IBA)
  • The Institute of Fisheries Sciences (ISH)

 Social and economic science establishments (04)

  • The Higher School of Economic and Commercial Sciences (ESSEC)
  • The Faculty of Letters and Human Sciences (FLSH)
  • The Faculty of Legal and Political Sciences (FSJP)
  • The Faculty of Economics and Applied Management (FSEGA)

03 Specialized Centers

  • The Center for Atomic, Molecular, Optic and Quantum Physics (CEPAMOQ)
  • The Training and Research Center in Petroleum and Mining Sciences (PETROMINES)

There is also provision for online courses.

The Administration

The university has as boss the Minister of Higher Education Jaques FAME NDONGO, the second in rank is the Rector – Prof Magloire ONDOA. The institutes are led by directors and the Deans and Vice-Deans are responsible for the faculties.

The Covid-19 Pandemic

UDla did not remain untouched by the devastating effects of the COVID-19 pandemic which they adapted to. There is the introduction of numerous hand washing points across its campuses, the compulsory wearing of face masks, sensitization notices on preventive measures and lectures are being encouraged to take place online.


Diploma authentication:

Mail services:

Tel: +237 233 405 862

BP. 2701 Douala

Partners and Affiliates

The university is affiliated to other state universities in Cameroon; the University of Buea, The University of Yaounde I, The University of Yaounde II, The University of Dschang, The University of Maroua, and The University of Bamenda.

They are partners with the following organizations; AUF, The Association of African universities, the international association of universities, ACU the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), the international agency of atomic energy (AIEA), the African and Malagasy Council of Higher Education (CAMES), the United Nations of Education, Science and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and Centrale the conference of the directors of universities and research institutes of central Africa (CRUROR/OR).

Also read on the University of Bamenda

× How can I help you?